UEFA has approved the final formula and access list

Access is denied based on the coefficient of the clubs’ classification. In the UEFA new league phase, there will be eight rather than ten matches.


Following its decision on April 19, 2021 to establish the “Swiss system,” the UEFA Executive

Committee approved the final format and access list for European club tournaments from

the 2024/25 season in Vienna, after significant consultation with stakeholders in the game.

The key changes are the decrease of the UEFA Champions League phase from ten to

eight matches and the revision of the criteria for granting two of the four additional places

in this tournament by eliminating qualification based on club coefficient ranking. This

judgment reaffirms UEFA’s unwavering belief in open tournaments based on sports merit,

while also acknowledging the need to safeguard national championships.

• The final two spots will be awarded to the organizations whose clubs had the best overall

performance the previous season (total number of points obtained divided by the number

of participating clubs). After the last club qualified for the UEFA Champions League, the

highest ranking club in each association will receive a place in their national tournament.

For example, at the end of the current season, England and the Netherlands are the two

associations that could add a club to the Champions League depending on their clubs’

collective performance. Apart from the final, the UEFA Executive Committee has determined

that all clubs will play in the middle of the week, in acknowledgment of the importance of

domestic fixtures in Europe.

We are confident that the model chosen is harmonious, that it will improve competition

balance and assure substantial money that can redistributed to clubs, leagues, and grassroots

football on our continent, while also boosting the attractiveness and popularity of our

interclub events.

I am delighted that the UEFA Executive Committee has reached a unanimous resolution in

agreement with the European Club Association (ECA), European Leagues, and national

associations.” This shows that European football is more united than ever before.

As a result, qualification will continue to be based exclusively on sporting achievement, and

all teams will be able to dream of playing in Europe.”

Summary of the UEFA formula

Above all, The UEFA Champions League will expand from 32 to 36 teams, but the most significant

change will be the elimination of the traditional group stage in favor of a single league

stage played by all teams. Instead of the six matches formerly played against three clubs in

the style of first legs -return, each club will now have a minimum of eight guaranteed

matches in the league phase against eight different opponents (four home matches and

four away matches).

Certainly, The top eight teams from the league stage will advance to the knockout stage automatically,

while teams finishing 9th to 24th will compete in two-round play-offs to get to the

knockout stages. Moreover The UEFA Europa League (eight matches in the league phase) and the UEFA

Europa Conference League (six matches) will both have a 36-team league phase,

with the same format alterations.

Leave a Reply